Geisha’s Hikizuri, newest purchase.

Standard

I just bought my first ever, and authentic hikizuri – a special kimono worn for performances. Hikizuri are more commonly worn by geisha. While I have had the chance in the past to buy several of these kinds of kimono, I have not because I am picky about my personal kimono. My favorite kind of kimono are called Tomesode. Tomesode are formal black kimono for married women, which feature sweeping designs around the bottom. My favorite theme and design on kimono is the wave theme.

So, you can imagine my reaction when I saw this….

Yes, this kimono is now mine. Yes, I intend to wear this.

One response »

Leave a Reply

