Kimono meets household washing machine

Standard

So, I recently purchased a kimono that was in worse shape than pictures showed it to be in. It is very dirty with deep wrinkles in the fabric, and a few tears. I can mend the tears, however the level of dirt and scuzz on the kimono I can’t deal with.

Figuring this kimono to be a total loss..I have done something with it that I would never dream to do with any proper kimono: I threw it in the washing machine. It currently is in the wash, and I will be back in a few with an update as to how the kimono fares.

No, I don’t recommend doing this normally – this is just an experiment with a kimono otherwise suited to be cut up, or trashed due to its dirt level.

Leave a Reply

